Get to know your Vulcans: Stephani Ellis

Laska_040

Interviewed by Joshua LaskaSports/Managing Editor

What was it like coming to America to play softball?

I was really excited to come to the states to play softball, because the sport is not that big in Canada, especially at the university level.

What was it like getting your first hit in college?

At the time it didn’t register with me that it was my “first college hit”. Just seemed like another hit to add to the books.

How hard was it to adjust to college play?

Adjusting to the strength and the talent levels of our opponents was probably one of the harder adjustments I had to make last year.

What was the hardest thing to learn at the college level?

Balancing school and softball was the hardest thing for me to learn…and I’m still working on it now.

What was it like to get to play in the NCAA Tournament your freshman season?

It was an awesome feeling to get to play in the NCAA Tournament with my team last year. We had worked so hard to get there.

Getting to start in your first game as a Vulcan, what were you feeling?

I felt rather accomplished because I have always wanted to play softball at the college level and to break into the starting lineup was gratifying.

How do you stay “in the game” during the off-season?

When I was at home this past summer I was still playing on a travel team. It was just a good way to keep my skills in check.

What originally got you into softball?

Well to be honest when I was younger soccer was my sport. I had to make the tough decision of playing soccer or softball because I was playing both at a high level where practice/games were all year around. I don’t really remember what the final deciding factor was as to why I picked softball, but I am so glad that I did!

How many years have you played softball?

12 years

What is one interesting fact that not everyone would know about you?

I am half Japanese and I am dual Canadian/American citizen.

Where are you from and where did you go to High School?

I went to Prince of Wales Secondary School in my hometown of Vancouver, British Columbia Canada.

What do you plan on doing after college?

I do not know what city I’ll be in but I’ll probably be in psychology grad school with a focus in sports psychology.

What is your favorite tv show?

Entourage/Blue Mountain State/Spartacus

Who are your favorite sports teams?

Vancouver Canucks

What is your favorite food?

Now if I said rice…would that be too stereotypical? Haha but I really like food too much to pick just one favorite food. 

What is your favorite movie?

Finding Nemo/Step Brothers

Do you have a favorite quote?

“Live a life that would make you jealous”

ELLIS’ SOFTBALL STATS FOR THE VULCANS

76 Games Played, 68 Games Started, 1 Home Run, 54 Hits, 96 Putouts

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Comment form

All fields marked (*) are required